Book Review #5: The Subjection of Women, by John Stuart Mill

BannerReview5

For those of you who have been following this blog for some time, will already be familiar with A Pair of Brown Eyes –an ongoing Victorian fiction I’m keeping here–, and if you’re not, I invite you to take a look at it, here at the Index. It was precisely this story that got me most particularly interested in The Subjection of Women, in the hopes that reading a male voice of those times would shed some light on one fact that has been nagging me ever since I started: whether I had envisioned my main male character (Andrew) too modern in his perception of women.

But now I see I had nothing to fear in that respect, as there were some free-thinkers and female-cause supporters among the male of that age. In fact, I need to say this before I even begin with the review: I have fallen in love with John Stuart Mill! It’s really comforting to know there are feminist men out there, and he has just proved to be one of the most inspired (and inspiring) I have ever read.

Don’t miss out this amazing essay, and feel free to take a look at my full review over at Moonlight and Sims: Blogger.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #5: The Subjection of Women, by John Stuart Mill

  1. So glad you pointed out here that there are feminist men. I think mistakenly many people assume feminists are only women. The author was ahead of his time in his thinking and it’s great that you point out how his views on women! I re-read your full book review on the other site and it is very well done.

    • Yes, there definitely are feminist men, and I think it’s very important we give them credit. Feminism only “makes sense” as a joint venture between men and women. Thank you so much for all your kind words :).

  2. Great post… I much enjoyed your perspectives on genre here as manly culture tend to be so dominant -still- nowadays. Happy New Year 2015 to you. Best wishes. Aquileana 😀

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post. The question of gender is very complex, but it’s good to know there were people in the past giving some thoughts to the matter.

      I hope I can still wish you a Happy New Year, even though we’re now one month on 2015 :). So sorry for being so late answering your comment.

Leave a Reply

